Brad Keselowski

(WOMR file photo)

For the first time in six races the leader coming out of turn #4 was the race winner at Talladega!  “The Blue Deuce” had a plan, and the plan worked.  For the last five races there was a slingshot move in the tri-oval that allowed the second place driver to steal the race lead and the victory.  However, today it wasn’t to be!

Once again this week one of our players picked the winner, “Blazingl Bad” Brad Keselowski.  This week Scott picked up his first winner of the year, scoring a whopping 47 points!  With those 47 points scored today, Scott moved up four positions in the standings to eighth place in the standings.  Now that doesn’t seem that great, however, Scott is only fifteen (15) points out of a podium position, and some money for the first segment!

Scott shared the weekly ‘biggest mover” with Zee, unfortunately, Zee lost four places.

The top three players did not move in the standings after the Aaron’s 499, with Jerry, Edie, and yours truly still holding down the fort.  However, Marc is making a late segment charge from sixth place up to fourth place this week.  Jim, who had held the fourth place, slid one place in the standings to fifth.

After Scott’s 47 points for the winning selection at Talladega, Marc was the next highest scoring player, having picked Kasey Kahne, and being rewarded with 41 points.
Edie gathered up 40 points for “sticking with The Biff”!  Our leader, Jerry, as well as David, grabbed 38 points for their pick of Clint Bowyer.

The seven players who picked Dale Earnhardt, Jr. snagged 36 points.  Nevertheless, Junior was a strong hot rod early on in the Aaron’s 499, but neither he nor any of his Hendrick Motorsports team mates were able to secured HMS their 200th win today.  This is the longest winless streak in the HMS history.  The organization’s last win came last October at the Kansas Speedway, with “Mr. Five Time”!.

Next week NASCAR travels to “The Track Too Tough To Tame”, Darlington.  This week both the Nationwide and the Sprint Cup will race under the lights,  For the Nationwide Series, their race will begin at 6:30 EDT/3:30 PDT Friday, while the Sprint Cup will roll off of pit lane at 6:30 EDT/3:30 PDT Saturday evening.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *